• It raises cup with a 4-1 record against Captains
  • Orlando Méndez was named the most valuable player in the final

The Mexicali Suns are the new monarchs of the National Professional Basketball League after beating the Captains of Mexico City the night of Tuesday 83-87, in a match held at the Gym Juan de la Barrera.

Chane Behanan and Eugene Phelps combined with 39 points to guide the Cachanilla squad to the victory that gave the championship after taking the series 4-1.

Soles opened the game with Joe Soto, Michael Carrera, Eugene Phelps, Chane Behanan and Ricas Martinez and immediately began to make the defensive game that coach Ivan Déniz ordered them to do.

With triples from Soto, Carrera and Martinez, the Mexican quintet managed to take advantage at the end of the first quarter 17-21.

During the second quarter Soles showed off the rotation of their bench, suffocating Captains with a very strong defense both in the paint and on the perimeter.

At the end of the second period the defensive pressure of Mexicali paid off as only 14 units were allowed to Capitanes, while Soles added 18 in their account to reach halftime with an advantage of 8 points, 31-39.

Capitanes went out to the third quarter determined to give the somersault to the board, but immediately Soles took up to 10 units of advantage, which lost a couple of minutes later as the locals won the partial 21-16 to reach the final period with Border advantage of just 3 points 52-55.

The fourth period could not be otherwise but loaded with total drama.

Soles managed to control the actions on Juan de la Barrera’s stake, it seemed that Capitanes lowered the guard, but in an instant they reached and came back on the board 71-69. But Soles did not lose their calm and knew how to recover the lead and take 5 units of advantage, which defended until the last second of the match.

The final partial was for Soles 31-32 to end up winning with a final score of 83-87 earning their third title in history.

At the end the award ceremony was held where Capitanes received the trophy and medals as a sub champion before the ovation and affection of their people.

Orlando Méndez was later declared the Most Valuable Player of the grand final and the party was total when the Cachanilla Players received their medal and the trophy which accredits them as the National Professional Basketball League (LNBP) monarchs for the 2017-2018 season.

Check Also

Mexicali Gears Up for International Padel Tournament

-Editorial The sport of Padel continues to grow in Mexicali, Baja California, as the city …

Leave a Reply