Home / LATEST NEWS / California Adds New Counties to The COVID-19 Watchlist

California Adds New Counties to The COVID-19 Watchlist


Gov. Gavin Newsom said Monday that the state now has 23 counties on its coronavirus watchlist. Newly added counties are: Colusa, Madera, Marin, Merced, Monterey and San Diego. Those counties are being asked to close indoor operations for some businesses, including restaurants and movie theaters. Bars must fully close

“We are doing everything we can to focus in on certain sectors of our economy where that spread is more likely to occur, where that spread can be potentially more concentrated, and try to mitigate that spread to the extent we can,” Newsom explained.

California has seen a nearly 50% increase in COVID-19 cases in the past two weeks. The duration of the restriction is three weeks.

An additional 6,367 people tested positive for COVID-19. Hospitalizations rose by 6.3% and ICU hospitalizations went up by 4.3%. At the same time, the state’s testing positivity rate has also steadily climbed, reaching about 6% over the past two weeks.

The new list of counties joins Contra Costa County, Santa Clara and Solano counties in the Bay Area, as well as Los Angeles County. Fresno, Glenn, Imperial, Kern, Kings, Merced, Orange, Riverside, Sacramento, San Bernardino, San Joaquin, Santa Barbara, Stanislaus, Tulare and Ventura.

Check Also

New Tijuana-Las Vegas Flight Announced by Governor Marina del Pilar Avila Olmeda

-Editorial As part of a significant boost to Baja California’s air connectivity with the rest …

Leave a Reply