Home / LATEST NEWS / Border Travel Restrictions Will Continue in Canada and Mexico

Border Travel Restrictions Will Continue in Canada and Mexico


Border travel restrictions will continue through the month of July as it was announced this morning by the governments of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.

The Trump Administration announced they will continue with the border restrictions with Mexico and Canada for one more month. The borders will remain closed to nonessential travel until July 21. The restrictions were announced in mid-March and were extended in April and May.

“Based on the success of the existing restrictions and the emergence of additional global COVID-19 hotspots, the Department will continue to limit non-essential travel at our land ports of entry with Canada and Mexico,” Chad Wolf, acting Secretary of Homeland Security, said in a statement. “This extension protects Americans while keeping essential trade and travel flowing as we reopen the American economy.”

In a statement made Tuesday morning, Mexico’s Foreign Ministry and the Mexican Embassy in the United States said the decision comes after both countries reviewed the COVID-19 situation and found a need to maintain a high level of caution.

“Both countries continue trying to coordinate sanitary measures in the border region. The (travel restrictions) will remain current until July 21, 2020,” the Foreign Ministry said on Twitter.

The travel restrictions have forced modifications to the ports of entry. The Calexico East Port of Entry is open from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. every day. The Calexico West Port of Entry continues to operate on its normal hours.

Check Also

MANA de Imperial Valley Awards $25,500 in Scholarships to 31

-Editorial MANA de Imperial Valley (MANA) recently awarded 25,500.00 in scholarships to 31 local high …

Leave a Reply